top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureL.A. Holloway

1 September 2021 - The Birth of a Baby Author


Warning: The content of this blog and the material it references is intended for audiences 18+ --- In the summer of 2020, I started writing.


My first novel, Witch of the Wood, was an exercise of catharsis. The anxiety of the approaching school year had me so stressed that I found myself increasingly retreating into my own mind to escape, and I knew that I couldn't keep doing it. Instead, I wrote the story that was pulling me in, getting it out of my head and freeing me as well in the process.


Originally, I didn't intend to let anyone else read it, let alone have any intentions to publish. In fact, I referred to it as my "accidental novel". A few of my friends finally convinced me to share it with them, and after reading it, insisted that I should publish; which I did, using the Amazon platform to self-publish both on paperback and digital formats.


In the time since, I have read over 150 other romance novels (mostly sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal romance), met lots of fellow indie authors, and learned a lot about writing. I revisited Witch of the Wood and found it lacking. Although it wasn't terrible, I had decided I wanted to start writing more deliberate novels, and WotW was not the standard I wanted to set for myself. I unpublished it and set to work on my debut science fiction romance project.


The Elation Wars is a series set in the near future, in a universe where an ancient race traversed the stars and, for reasons unknown, created hundreds of species of sentient beings in their image. The children of this original race come to be known as "starseeds", but despite all that they have in common, the starseeds are at war. Humanity is caught up in that war when the fanatical Rha'ku'tan Empire makes contact with Earth, dividing the loyalties of the human race and ultimately plunging the planet into a global civil war. As humans flee the Earth as refugees, they must learn to navigate a vast cosmos and the hundreds of unfamiliar beings that inhabit it.


Book one, Wildling of Ravia, is due to be published by October 1st, and you can view the trailer here:



If you're as excited about Wildling as I am, I hope you'll stay posted for updates! You can follow me here, on Twitter, TikTok, or Facebook.


Until next time!

-L.A. Holloway


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page